Excitement in Kingston

Writing Grace was a surprising voyage through the twentieth century – an opportunity to learn more about my mother’s life and Ontario’s history too. Since the book’s publication, I’ve had many occasions to share Grace’s stories with others. Each event is exciting. I often hear new stories too.

Last week, in connection with a book talk at the Seniors Centre in Kingston, two local newspapers published articles. I’m proud to share them here. Peter Hendra wrote for The Kingston Whig. Julia McKay wrote for Kingston This Week. The publicity generated new interest in one-room schools and Grace’s stories; more invitations to give book talks, too. Her experiences illustrate how education and life have changed as Ontario industrialized and urbanized. They offer a fresh look at Ontario’s history.

It’s always exciting to hear from readers. Please let me know if the book brought back memories or offered surprises to you. Today I added a new comment to the What Readers Say page. I’ll continue to do this as I hear from readers.

Millie

